CPAT logo
Cymraeg / English
Back Home
Your Community

Montgomeryshire Historic Settlements

Twenty years ago the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust compiled an assessment of the historic settlements of Montgomeryshire, on behalf of Cadw and the then Montgomeryshire District Council. It was one of several such assessments for the local authority areas of eastern Wales and ultimately ten reports were completed between 1992 and 1995, embracing the entire region for which CPAT had and retains a remit.

In 2010 CPAT felt that the time had come to re-examine the pictures of its historic settlements, fifteen to twenty years on from when the initial studies were completed.

The former local authority areas of Brecknock Borough and Radnorshire were selected to initiate the programme in 2010-11 and this has been followed with studies of Montgomeryshire and Flintshire in 2011-12. We hope to complete the remaining areas over the next two years. Each of the settlements examined can be accessed by clicking on the interactive map or by picking them from the list below. The introductory text to the report can be reached by following this link

Pick a settlement from the list below. Each link will open a separate PDF, which may take a few seconds to load, and which can be read by Adobe Acrobat. If you do not have an up to date version of this program please click on the logo at the bottom of the screen to download one from the Adobe website.

Click here to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat reader

Privacy and cookies Aberhafesp Penstrowed Llanrhaedr-ym-Mochnant Llansilin Trelystan Cemmaes Llanarmon Mynydd-mawr Llandyssil Llangedwyn Carno Mochdre Garthbeibio Llangynog Llandrinio Criggion Hirnant Welshpool Machynlleth Llanymynech Llanerfyl Manafon Guilsfield Llanfair Caereinion Tregynon Castle Caereinion Hyssington Llangadwaladr Trefeglwys Churchstoke Llanfechain Darowen Meifod Newtown Snead Berriew Llanfyllin Llandinam Llanllwchaiarn Caersws Llanfihangel-yng-Ngwynfa Llandysilio Llanwrin Pennant Melangell Llan Montgomery Forden Penegoes Llangurig Llangynyw Bettws Cedewain Llanwyddelan Kerry Llanidloes Llanwnog Llanllugan Llansantffraid ym Mechain Buttington Llanmerewig Llangadfan