CPAT logo
Cymraeg / English
Back Home

The Welsh Archaeological Trusts

The four Welsh Archaeological Trusts, were established in the mid 1970s to respond to the rapidly increasing demands of rescue archaeology and to provide a uniform local archaeology service across the whole of Wales. Based on the county areas of Clwyd-Powys, Dyfed, Glamorgan-Gwent and Gwynedd, the Trusts now provide a broad range of archaeological and heritage services in their respective areas - from the maintenance of Historic Environment Records and the provision of archaeological management advice and educational services to field survey, excavation and heritage interpretation. The four Trusts are independent limited companies with charitable status, employing professional archaeological staff with a wide range of expertise, and receiving financial support from both national and local government, commercial contract work and even private donation.

A map

Right: the areas covered by the four Welsh Archaeological Trusts

Contact details:

Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust
41 Broad Street, Welshpool, Powys, SY21 7RR
tel: 01938 553670
fax: 01938 552179

Dyfed Archaeological Trust
The Shire Hall, Carmarthen Street, Llandeilo, Carmarthen, SA19 6AF
tel: 01558 823121
fax: 01558 823133

Glamorgan-Gwent Archaeological Trust
Heathfield House, Heathfield, Swansea, SA1 6EL
tel: 01792 655208
fax: 01792 474469

Gwynedd Archaeological Trust
Craig Beuno, Garth Road, Bangor, Gwynedd, LL57 2RT
tel: 01248 352535
fax: 01248 370925

Privacy and cookies